Practical information

The Ravoux Inn, known as “The House of Van Gogh"

The Ravoux Inn is situated in the heart of the village of Auvers-sur-Oise, just 22 miles from Paris. It was the last home of Vincent van Gogh… who, in a life lasting 37 years, had no fewer than 37 successive addresses in The Netherlands, Belgium, England and France.

The Inn is listed as a French Historical Landmark, and is the only one of Van Gogh’s known dwelling places to be preserved in its original state. The painter’s spirit lives on in the tiny room of the attic floor of the Ravoux Inn, and it is there, in room number 5, that his glorious reputation gives way to an atmosphere of intimacy.

The House of Van Gogh is a ‘place of memory’ yet at the same time also a place of life; just as in 1890 the dining room welcomes many customers, some of them from far across the world, in the warm and authentic atmosphere of an artists’ café of many years ago. Vincent van Gogh spent only 70 days in Auvers-sur-Oise. Yet he was extraordinarily prolific in this short time, because he was inspired by the picturesque site with its inhabitants and surroundings to paint close to 80 canvases, which are brought alive for us in the winding streets of the village.


The Services offered by the Inn

Private Hire

The whole of the property (historic dining room, dining room-cum-‘guinguette’, club house…) can be available for private hire. You may thus spend an evening as your own host in the House of Van Gogh, reserved exclusively for your own purpose. Your friends, family and business associates can be guaranteed all the pleasure of an authentic experience of French ‘art de vivre’ in a unique place.

Read More

Seminars – Creative Study Purposes

Auvers-sur-Oise is a secluded country location just 25 miles from Roissy-Charles de Gaulle Airport and 16 miles from La Défense (direct motorway access). The House of Van Gogh is the ideal place for organising your business seminars in a unique setting, propitious for work, creativity and relaxation (6 to 8 people).


The Guinguette

This is a timber building, inspired by Van Gogh’s painting of the famous guinguette “La Sirène” (a ‘guinguette’ was a place for music and dancing). This is a one-storey annex between the Ravoux Inn and the Friends’ House. Accommodating either 50 seated diners or 100 guests for a ‘cocktail’, it is particularly suitable for receptions.
The Auberge is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays


OPENING TIMES

2020 Season:
From 7 March to 15 November 2020

Lunch:
From Wednesday to Sunday:
Served from 12 p.m. to 2.30 p.m.
« Around a cocotte »

From 2.30 p.m. to 5.30 p.m.
« Over a glass of wine ».

Dinner:
Only available for private events
« At Van Gogh’s Table ».

Book a table


Van Gogh’s Room

4th March to 15 November
Wednesday to Sunday
- 9.30 a.m. to 12.45 a.m. (last visit 12.15 a.m.)
- 1.30 p.m. to 6.30 p.m. (last visit 6 p.m.)


More details


Bookshop

4th March to 15 November
Wednesday to Sunday 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

A range of books and bookshop items, notably concerning gastronomy, created and published by and for the Ravoux Inn

L’Auberge Ravoux, située au cœur du village d’Auvers-sur-Oise, à 30 kilomètres de Paris fut le dernier domicile de Vincent van Gogh… qui, en 37 ans de vie, n’eut pas moins de 37 autres adresses aux Pays-Bas, en Belgique, Angleterre et en France.

Ce site, classé monument historique, est aujourd’hui l’unique maison où vécut Van Gogh préservée dans son état originel. L’âme du peintre vibre encore sous les combles de l’Auberge Ravoux, et dans la Chambre n°5, la gloire de Van Gogh cède le pas à une atmosphère d’intimité.

Lieu de mémoire, la Maison de Van Gogh est aussi un lieu de vie : aujourd’hui comme en 1890, la salle à manger accueille des convives du monde entier dans l’ambiance chaleureuse et authentique des cafés d'artistes d’autrefois. Vincent van Gogh ne passa que 70 jours à Auvers-sur-Oise. Ce court séjour fut pourtant extraordinairement prolifique, puisque ce site pittoresque, ses habitants et ses environs lui inspirèrent près de 80 œuvres, dont on retrouve aujourd’hui une évocation au fils des ruelles du village.


Les Services de l’Auberge

Privatisation

L'ensemble du site (salle à manger, guinguette, club house…) peut être privatisé, et vous permettre de devenir, le temps d'une soirée, l'hôte privilégié de la Maison de Van Gogh. Vous offrirez ainsi, en toute intimité, l'art de vivre à la française, l'émotion et l'authenticité d'un lieu unique à vos amis, votre famille ou vos partenaires.

Tarif : 135 € / personne

Soirée "Sur les pas de Van Gogh"

Séminaires – Études

Auvers-sur-Oise est un petit coin de campagne à seulement 35 km de l'aéroport de Roissy-Charles de Gaulle et 25 km de La Défense (autoroute directe). C'est l'endroit idéal pour organiser vos séminaires d'entreprise dans un cadre unique, aussi propice au travail et à la créativité qu'à la détente (12 à 24 personnes).

(uniquement du mercredi au dimanche)

Informations Séminaires/Études

La maison des amis

Cette maison indépendante, peinte par Van Gogh, propose un rez-de-chaussée avec table de travail (6 à 8 personnes) et un salon au 1er étage avec cheminée. Particulièrement appréciée par les créatifs des agences de publicités et par les administrateurs de grands groupes
pour son côté intimiste et discret.

La Guinguette

Structure de bois indépendante, inspirée du tableau de Van Gogh "La Sirène" et située entre l’Auberge Ravoux et la Maison des Amis. La Guinguette pouvant recevoir jusqu’à 50 personnes assises et 100 personnes en configuration "cocktail", elle est particulièrement adaptée pour les réceptions.
Tous les services de la Maison de Van Gogh sont fermés les lundi et mardi


Repas à l’Auberge Ravoux

Ouverture saison 2017 :
Du 1er mars au 26 novembre 2017

Déjeuner :

Du mercredi au dimanche : service continu de 12h00 à 14h15
Dîner :
Vendredi et samedi soir uniquement, de 19h30 à 21h

Réserver une table


Chambre de Van Gogh

Du 1er mars au 29 octobre 2017
Visite du mercredi au dimanche
de 10h00 à 18h00 (dernière visite 17h30)

En savoir Plus


Librairie

Du 1er mars au 29 octobre 2017
Du mercredi au dimanche de 10h00 à 18h00

Une gamme de produits exclusifs de papeterie et autour de l'Art de la table – créés et édités par/pour l'Auberge Ravoux